Soil Blocks!

In the past I have used the coir that you add water to, it should expand and then is your soil, but this year I am trying something a little different. The reason I choose to do soil blocks is you can start with a very small amount of dirt used, and wait until the plants sprout and then pot up. Potting up is easy too. You just pick up the small block and place it into the hole made by the big soil block maker. The soil block makers go up in size and are easy to see when the roots are outgrowing their block.

You may be wondering then how the soil blocks all started…we picked some soil that was made up of compost, coir, perlite, and fertilizer. I also picked up top soil to mix in so that I would get a good consistency in the soil to make the blocks. I put about 4 cups of the growing mix with about 1 cup of top soil. This helped to give the correct texture, and I added the water so that it would hold its form.

2016-02-24 12.29.00
Soil used for the block making

The soil then was mixed in a small container and I made the number of blocks I needed for the seeds I needed to start this week. I was having so much fun making blocks I may have saved my “good ones” from my first batch and ended up with a little more than I needed…but I couldn’t get rid of my perfect little blocks. I am sure I will get over that soon!

2016-02-24 12.19.22
Soil for the block making
2016-02-24 12.19.26
Soil blocks made

I am planting cabbage, broccoli and kohlrabi this week.

I wanted about 25 broccoli and cabbage and about 40 kohlrabi. This is so that I can space these out throughout the season and maybe give some away. I also have much more space to grow seedlings this year due to the blocking method, so I am growing and may sell some of the seedlings this spring. The blocks make 20 blocks per time so I made 103 blocks with my first round of mess ups but a few good blocks (35 broccoli, 28 cabbage, and 40 kohlrabi.)

All the little seeds sit nicely in the tiny divet/holes and will hopefully be happy and sprouting in a few days 🙂

I am excited to have my cabbage, broccoli and kohlrabi on their ways to an early start for a nice spring harvest! Plus the weather is getting nice and warm so all our snow has melted and the little garlic shoots are greening up! &&& apparently my lettuce left in the garden from last year is making it through as well so that is interesting to see what will happen with that! YAY MILD WINTERS!

What have you started indoors this year?

3 thoughts on “Soil Blocks!

  1. I started my artichoke and asparagus seeds already. I won’t be starting anything else for another couple of weeks. I really am hoping that the artichoke does well because I LOVE Spinach Artichoke dip. I would love even more to be able to make my own ^.^ Keep posting about your garden. I’ve already learned so much from you, my garden is going to be ten times better than it would have been!

    Like

Leave a Reply

