Making from Scratch! (Lotion, deodorant, and bath melts)

Blogging has been such a fun outlet for me. I love getting to sit down and share about things that I am passionate about with others who share the same interests. One of my passions is making things from scratch. This week on the homestead I made a bunch of different little things: a few different types of lotion bars, deodorant and bath melts (for my friend).

Now most people would just go out and purchase these things as needed but the more I learn about ingredients we put in our food, the more I dig into what am I putting on my skin! One of the first, and easiest, things to change for us was deodorant. Deodorant is simple to make and works amazing. Most store bought deodorants contain ingredients thought to causes cancer, though not proven. But why am I going to risk something as serious as breast cancer, even potentially, when I can simply make my own deodorant, know what is in it and move on!

So the quick and easy deo recipe:
3 Tbsp Cornstarch (helps keep you dry)
1 Tbsp Baking Soda (helps eliminate odor)
2 Tbsp Melted Coconut Oil (helps carry all the other ingredients and provides soothing properties)
3 drops Tea Tree Oil (helps to kill bacteria in the sweat)
2 capfuls Vit E Oil (helps keep skin smooth)

Mix the cornstarch and baking soda, while melting the coconut oil on the stove. Add the coconut oil, tea tree oil and vitamin e oil to the cornstarch and baking soda mix. Pour into the container of choice. I tried to pour into a regular deodorant stick that I was planning to reuse; the problem in the summer is that the deodorant becomes soft and oozed out of my stick. Now I keep mine in these glass jars. Yes I do use my finger to apply my deodorant, I just got out of the shower so I figure it is pretty safe 😉

2016-03-15 16.05.11<<My little deodorant jar

Since I had out all my stuff for making deodorant, and I have been dying to try making lotion bars, I decided to get on those lotion bars too!2016-03-12 15.22.28-2

The lotion bars are actually very simple.

I found a recipe that was: 1 part beeswax, 1 part coconut oil and 1 part shea butter, and all you add is whatever essential oil you want! I had another recipe that was 1 cup coconut oil, 3/4 cup beeswax, a few capfuls of vitamin e and lavender flowers (which I happened to have from drying them out over winter).

As you can see there are different mixtures above. I also made some bath melts for a friend whose kiddo gets eczema. The bath melts are ground oats, a little honey, vitamin e oil and coconut oil. The bath melts are to rub on the skin at the end of a shower or throw into the bath. They should help to not dry out your skin so easily.

This was just a fun project! Quick and easy! Double boiler, add the ingredients (except those that were already melted…essential oils, flowers, vitamin e), remove from the heat and add your scenting ingredients, pour into the molds, store in the fridge for a little while and wahlah! Lotion bars and bath melts!

What is some DIY projects you have seen on pinterest you have always wanted to do? This was definitely mine and made for a fun Saturday!

Leave a Reply

