Baked Oatmeal

I hate oatmeal! It is mushy and gross and reminds me of baby food. I know that oatmeal can be a good breakfast choice, so I wanted to like oatmeal, so I set out to find a way to eat it. Eh wahlah! I love baked oatmeal! It takes out all that mushiness and I can just enjoy it. So below is my recipe for baked oatmeal modified off of this recipe:

I make a small batch that only lasts us two days because past that it starts to get yucky to me and doesn’t store well…so that is why the portions are so small.

Yield: 2 servings

1/2 cup old fashioned oats
1-2 tbsp brown sugar
1/4 tea cinnamon
1/4 tea baking powder
touch of salt
a handful of chocolate chips
2 cups milk + 1 egg (beaten together)…only use 1/2 cup of this mixture in the recipe and save the rest for later days
1/4 tea vanilla
1/2 tbsp butter
1/2 banana

Okay so here is the quick and dirty:
1. Preheat oven to 350
2. Mix the dry together; then add the wet ingredients
3. Top with bananas (or whatever you want to add)
4. Bake for 30 mins
5. Enjoy!

2016-09-14-06-59-30
Not pictured salt or butter…oops

First I mix the dry ingredients together in my pan (I just use my pyrex container).

2016-09-14-07-00-51After the dry ingredients are all mixed together we add the wet ingredients.

2016-09-14-07-04-03Chop up that banana and add it to the top.

2016-09-14-07-05-03Bake at 350ºF for 30 minutes and then enjoy!

2016-09-14-07-44-45I love how simple this baked oatmeal is and if I like bananas and my husband doesn’t, I can make my own pan and I can make him a pan with whatever he wants or without anything in it besides the brown sugar and cinnamon. You can make this baked oatmeal really whatever you want it! So hope you enjoyed this little pop up blog and why don’t you go on over to our home page and let me know what you think of the new homepage in the comments below!⇓

Leave a Reply

