Homemade Paprika

Did you know you can grow and make your own paprika? Paprika is made from dehydrated peppers and then crushed into the powder that you would buy in the store. We made our own paprika for the first time last year, and when we started using it in our cooking I was amazed at the taste difference. Most people know that home grown is normally better than store bought, but I figured this spice would be pretty comparable (BOY WAS I WRONG) and was just doing it for fun.

I purchased our paprika seed from here in 2015. We grow these peppers along side all our other peppers and once they are red, we harvest them and start making our powder.

2016-08-30 14.51.08.jpg

You take these wonderful peppers, a pair of gloves, and a knife. Go ahead and put on those gloves. Chop open those peppers, and deseed the peppers. Once they are halved you can then place them on the dehydrator trays.

2016-08-30-14-57-28

Once the peppers are dehydrated (I usually just let the dehydrator go overnight), you just blend them into the size you want the particles to be. You can grind it through a coffee grinder if you want it very small, or you can do what I do and just put it through your blender or ninja in my case.

As the pepper plant grows throughout the season, I keep on dehydrating when I get about 15-30 peppers, and do this process until the last pepper is picked. We have about 4 pepper plants to keep us stocked with paprika powder throughout the winter. Got to love home made paprika powder.

What herbs and spices do you gather for the winter? Comment below ⇓

2016-08-31-11-59-27
First round of dehydrating jarred for the winter
5 thoughts on “Homemade Paprika

  1. This is so cool! I use paprika so much, and it never occurred to me that it was a pepper! Wow, of course! This year I am growing and drying basil, oregano, Rosemary and sage. I definitely want to do this for next year😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is a great amount of herbs to start with!!! Way to go! Did you know that basil is mostly a water based herb and can hold its flavor better through freezing than drying? Just food for thought! 😊 Also I will be adding a pesto recipe to my recipe page soon and that is a great way to freeze extra basil as well!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh thanks! I didn’t know that, it makes sense though, since it takes pretty long to dry. If you make pesto can you can it? I have limited freezer space. We are getting a small freezer this winter so we can preserve more next summer! I will be waiting for the pesto recipe 😀

        Like

      2. The recipe I have doesn’t say anything about canning so I am not certain but if you have limited freezer space you can take the basil leaves and just place them in a freezer bag and lay them as flat as possible, then when I want to use them I use an herb mill to “grind” the basil into whatever I am using it for!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

